The Way I Love You

I wish I had a list of reasons I could tell them – elaborating why I love you. But, I don’t, because I never think of the ‘why’ of it all, they often call me emotional and illogical. And I wish they’d ask me the ‘how’- how I feel when the phone rings your name or when the smallest thing reminds me of you. How unexpectedly I fell for you and now my world is just a brighter place with your perfect smile. How the sand feels when sea kisses its shore. How falling asleep without your voice makes me miserable. How waking up to your voice and waking up to wake you are synonymous. How you have taken every place in my poor little heart. How our differences make me grow. How I have already crossed every ocean for you in my head. How taking care of you has become my favourite. How the cold breeze feels to a hot summer day. How looking at a picture of us gets me motivated and how I look for ‘us’ in every caricature I see. How do I tell them of the feeling when we are together and that when our hearts align, it’s a perfect circle. How the kiss of the protector has never felt this right since my father and how blindly I trust you, it gives me shivers. How I have been wrong, but I’ll do everything to make this one right. The question is always a how and never a why, when it comes to the way I love you… and it will always come without question marks.

For Neel, Love J

Beautiful Artwork by Xuan Loc Xuan

One thought on “The Way I Love You

Leave a comment